Monday, 25 November 2013

British Comic Awards 2013: winners

I'm going to write a Thought Bubble report eventually, somewhere (probably over at TCJ), but in the meantime, I'm just going to very briefly talk about the British Comic Awards (I'll expand slightly in the report). The second annual British Comic Awards took place on Saturday evening in the Royal Armouries Bury Theater, after the con floor closed, with the winner of the Young People's Comic award announced on the Friday. That award is voted by children from participating schools, so I was really pleased to see Garen Ewing win with his book The Complete Rainbow Orchid. Orchid is a brilliant adventure story in the classic ligne claire tradition, and it's satisfying to know that kids still appreciate that style and good, solid narrative- which is not to say that the other nominees weren't excellent also, but I have to admit it's triumph took me by surprise in a good way.

A special mention for David Monteith, who hosted the awards this year and was a fantastic host: engaging, punchy and funny. Below is a full list of nominees, with winners in bold. Congratulations to all involved.

Best Comic:
The Absence #5 – Martin Stiff (self published)
The Listening Agent – Joe Decie (Blank Slate Books)
Mud Man #6 – Paul Grist (Image Comics)
Soppy – Philippa Rice (self published)
Winter’s Knight: Day One – Robert M Ball (Great Beast/self published)

Best Book:
The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil – Stephen Collins (Jonathan Cape)
Judge Dredd: Trifecta – Al Ewing, Rob Williams, Simon Spurrier, Henry Flint, D’Israeli, Carl Critchlow and Simon Coleby (2000AD Graphic Novels)
The Man Who Laughs – David Hine and Mark Stafford (Self Made Hero)
Mrs. Weber’s Omnibus – Posy Simmons (Jonathan Cape)
The Nao of Brown – Glyn Dillon (Self Made Hero)

Young People’s Comic Award:
Hilda & The Bird Parade – Luke Pearson (NoBrow)
The Sleepwalkers – Vivianne Schwarz (Walker Books)
Cindy & Biscuit #3 – Dan White (self published)
The Complete Rainbow Orchid – Garen Ewing (Egmont)
Playing Out – Jim Medway (Blank Slate Books)

Emerging Talent: 
Isabel Greenberg (The River of Lost Souls)
Dilraj Mann (Frank Ocean VS Chris Brown, Make You Notice, Turning Point)
Will Morris (The Silver Darlings)
Jade Sarson (Cafe Suada)
Lizzy Stewart (Solo, Four Days In Brussels, Four Days in Iceland, Object Stories)

Hall of Fame:
Leo Baxendale

L-R: Adam Cadwell, Glyn Dillon, Will Morris, Robert Ball and Jacky Fleming who accepted the award on behalf of Leo Baxendale. Photo taken by Sarah McIntyre, whose Thought Bubble report you can, and should, read here

No comments:

Post a Comment