Monday, 10 February 2014

2nd Slate Cartoonist Studio Prize nominations

The nominees for the second annual Cartoonist Studio prize, founded by Slate and the Center for Cartoon Studies, have been announced. This year, the shortlist was chosen by Slate book review editor, Dan Kois, the faculty and student body at the Center for Cartoon Studies, represented by CCS Fellow Nicole Georges, and guest judge, Christopher Butcher, co-founder of TCAF  (Toronto Comic Arts Festival) and owner of Toronto comic book store, The Beguiling.

The prize is divided into 2 categories: graphic novel of the year, and best web-comic, with the winner of each award receiving $1000. Last year saw Chris Ware and Noelle Stevenson triumph in the respective categories. This years winners will be announced in March. I like the Slate prize: I like that it's stream-lined, I like that it recognises web-comics, and I like that there's a monetary award for the winner. A full list of  the nominees can be found below- it seems to be a mix of books that were well-regarded last year, along with more critical favourites and mainstays- in terms of the web-comic category :

Graphic novel of the year:
  • Boxers and Saints, Gene Luen Yang
  • The Encyclopedia of Early Earth,  Isabel Greenberg 
  • The Initiates, Étienne Davodeau
  • Julio’s Day, Gilbert Hernandez
  • Map of Days, Robert Hunter
  • Paul Joins the Scouts,  Michel Rabagliati
  • The Property, Rutu Modan
  • Sunny Vol. 1 and Sunny Vol. 2, Taiyo Matsumoto
  • Susceptible, Geneviève Castrée
  • Today Is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life, Ulli Lust

Sunny, Taiyo Matsumoto

Best web-comic:
  • As the Crow Flies, Melanie Gillman
  • Bouletcorp, Boulet
  • Gunshow, KC Green
  • Household, Sam Alden 
  • The Lone Wolf, Jennifer Parks
  • Lucky, Gabrielle Bell
  • Oh Joy, Sex Toy, Erika Moen
  • Out of Skin, Emily Carroll
  • Sticks Angelica,  Michael DeForge 
  • Subnormality, Winston Rowntree

(via Slate)

No comments:

Post a Comment