Friday, 27 February 2015

Society of Illustrators recognises Bangnarelli, Huston, Tsurumi, Kyle, Schrauwen, & more, at annual Comic and Cartoon Art awards

Between Slumberland by Maëlle Doliveux

I know award fatigue can set in very quickly (unless you're the person winning them), but I thought the Society of Illustrators dedicated comic arts medal prizes, which they introduced last year as a companion line to their prestigious illustration medals, were worth noting. The 6 categories created are interesting: short from, digital media, special format, long form, single image, and comic strip; as are the mixture of recipients- some familiar, some less so. Gold and Silver medals are presented to work which displays 'high-quality technique, a strong narrative, and an interesting composition.' You can see a full list of those put forward for consideration in each category here. I'm really pleased to see Italian artist Bianca Bagnarelli win the gold medal in the short form category for Fish, Oliver Schrauwen for Arsene Schrauwen, Andrea Tsurumi, Patrick Kyle, Lauren Weinstein, Matthew Houston- lots of excellent work recognised here that generally goes overlooked, so it's nice to see a place for these awards. The original winning works will be exhibited in the MoCCA Gallery at the Society of Illustrators from June 16 through August 15th, and an reception and awards presentation will take place on Friday, June 19th. Congratulations to all medal recipients. 

Short form: The Gold Medal is awarded to Bianca Bagnarelli for Fish (Nobrow). Silver Medals go to Matthew Houston for Phone Book and Keren Katz for Mahana’im 134 (Humdrum Collective).

Digital media: The Gold Medal goes to Lauren Weinstein for Carriers. Silver Medals go to Gemma Correll for Four Eyes Cartoons and Andrea Tsurumi for Yup/Nope.

Special format: The Gold Medal goes to Rodger Binyone for Subterranean Level: 6XZ03188V. Silver Medals go to Eitan Eloa for The Grimm Brothers According to Frischmann: Three Illustrated Stories and David Plunkert for Heroical #2.

Long form: The Gold Medal is awarded to Olivier Schrauwen for Arsène Schrauwen (Fantagraphics). Silver Medals go to Jaime Hernandez for The Love Bunglers (Fantagraphics) and Patrick Kyle for Distance Mover (Koyama Press).

Single image: The Gold Medal is awarded to Roger De Muth for Squirrels Are Not Just For Breakfast Anymore. Silver Medals go to Carolita Johnson for Must Remember and Liam Walsh for Just Married. 

Comic strip: The Gold Medal goes to Maëlle Doliveux for Little Nemo in Between Slumberland (Locust Moon). Silver Medals go to Fran Krause for Deep Dark Fears and Tom Tomorrow for Captain Kirk vs. the Internet.

(via ComicsBeat)

No comments:

Post a Comment